College Tips

Posted on November 8, 2011

0


     Hi, my name is Denise and I am currently a senior. I am here to tell you about my college application experience. So far, my experience applying to colleges and hoping to get accepted has been stressful. The process of applying to college/universities online is much easier than applying on paper. The reason why I am stressed about applying to colleges/universities I have taken because of my ACT score. I took the ACT three times and I only increase my score by one point. I was very disappointed because I felt that I studied hard enough to do well on the test. My junior year I participated in many ACT prep classes to help me prepare for the test. In the end, those prep classes didn’t seem to help me, I came to find out that I’m not a very good test taker. I might also re-take the ACT one last time to see if I can get a better score, but at the same time I feel that a school shouldn’t choose me based on how well or badly I do on a standardized test.

     Recently, I spoke to an admissions counselor to ask about their admission requirements. I asked about their minimum ACT score is and he said it was an 18. Then I asked what if the ACT score was below an 18 and he said that they would look at letters of recommendation and transcripts. I have two letters of recommendation so far by two teachers. I choose those two teachers because I’ve known them for two years.  It wouldn’t make sense for me to choose a teacher that I’ve only known for a short period of time. The ACT test isn’t everything colleges also look at other things to see what you may be capable of. I will not let a low test score stop me from applying to colleges, and neither should other people.

Even though this process is stressful I really want to make myself proud by applying to colleges hoping to get accepted and feel that I accomplished something by getting accepted to a college. So far in my application process, I mostly applied to some colleges so far all I need to send in is my ACT scores and transcripts. I’m not really sure what college I want to go to yet but I do want to go to a college away from home. My parents really want me to go to college in the city but I don’t. I feel that I’ve been in the city for too long, and that I need to explore other places instead of always being in my comfort zone. I won’t let my parents choose a college/university for me because at the end of the day it’s my decision to choose what place is right for me.

-Denise G.

Posted in: General